Senator Mary Landrieu (D, LA) (202)224-5824
328 Hart Senate BuildingWashington, DC 20510
  
Senator Landrieu,    
 
You have not stated anything of substance in your response. You have insinuated that you support the nomination, but not actually come out and stated it flatly. You have written a paragraph about a subject without taking any position on it whatsoever that is readily apparent.The logic behind my stance was laid out fairly clearly in previous correspondence to you (dated July 11, 2009) and unless you can actually dismantle the case that I have made against her (Sotomayor) using the Constitution as the defining document from which to determine job qualification, then I will remain firmly rooted. Please be aware that any positive endorsement that you may give to Supreme Court nominee Sonya Sotomayor will in my mind constitute irrevocable grounds for my adamant campaigning against any future office you may seek.
 
That being said, I am not unreasonable and if I can be shown where I have made a legitimate error in process, I will readily and humbly adjust.
 
And Senator? I am not fool enough to believe that my viewpoint is the only one out there. Nor should you be. You must realize that you will inevitably lose some votes as a result of your position on issues, as for every outlook there is another that is totally different. So take a side & declare in no uncertain terms what your allegiances are.

As for me….. I will stand with the United States Constitution.

Semper Fidelis,
 
Chris Beall
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
One_AmericanPatriot@yahoo.com
 
From:constituent_reply@landrieu.senate.gov
Correspondence from Senator Landrieu

July 13, 2009 Dear Mr. Beall: Thank you for contacting my office regarding the nomination of Judge Sonia Sotomayor for Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. I appreciate hearing from you on this important issue. As you may know, President Barack Obama nominated Judge Sonia Sotomayor on May 26, 2009. The Supreme Court is the highest judicial body in the Nation. As a Senator, it is my duty to ensure that all members of this high court have a strong legal background, experience in handling a variety of legal issues, and a fairminded approach to judicial review. I take my responsibility for reviewing the qualifications of presidential nominees very seriously. You may be pleased to know that I have reviewed Judge Sotomayor’s record very carefully, interviewed her personally, and will continue to examine her writings to ensure that she will serve as a fair and impartial Justice. Currently, the Senate Judiciary Committee has scheduled the nomination hearings for Judge Sotomayor for July 13, 2009. Please rest assured that I will continue to monitor the progress of this nomination and keep your views in mind when this comes before the full Senate for a vote. Again, I appreciate the opportunity to hear from you and I hope you will continue to contact me on issues of mutual concern. Please also feel free to visit my website at http://landrieu.senate.gov for more information on legislative affairs. With warmest regards, I am Sincerely, A Mary L. Landrieu United States Senator MLL:aar

Sent: Monday, July 13, 2009

 

